List Of World Test Championship Prize Money Distribution 2023

World Test Championship prize

World Test Championship prize money is the main center of debate in the current timeline.

As the World Test Championship final getting closer, people have been eyeing their favorite team while on the other hand, others are keen on knowing the prize money of the World Test Championship.

The ICC World Test Championship 2021-23 – Australia and India's journey to  the Ultimate Test
Source: ICC Cricket

On Friday, International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the prize money for the World Test Championship 2021-23 cycle with a total amount of $3.8 million to be shared between the nine teams.

Pakistani cricket fans are also interested to know how much amount Pakistan team will get after the World Test Championship final.

Prize Money Distribution Of World Test Championship 2023

The last time when World Test Championship final was held, New Zealand defeated India and claimed their first-ever World Test Championship. They were pretty dominant throughout the cycle and their performance was unmatchable.

Lasting legacy: The numbers behind Kane Williamson's Test captaincy reign
Source: ICC Cricket

Kane Williamson’s side received $1.6 million in Southampton when they defeated India back in 2021 with a historic eight wickets.

This time, Australia did the same and secured the final spot. Ever since Pat Cummins became the test captain of the Australian side, his leadership and performance impressed everyone. He even defeated the Pakistan team on their home ground and made a new record.

Now coming to the prize money, the winner of the World Test Championship will take home around $1.6 Million and the runner-up will pocket $800,000.

Remember, there has been not a single change in the prize money ever since the inaugural of the Test Championship (2019-21) with a total of $3.8 million.

Share of the Prize Money

South Africa managed to finish in third place and will receive $450,000. Meanwhile, England who got a late boost in the campaign by whitewashing Pakistan after 22 years and finished fifth will get $200,000.

The remaining teams such as New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, and Bangladesh will be rewarded with a sum of $100,000 each.

To have the complete details, here’s the full chart of the prize money distributed among the top 9 World Test Championship teams:

PositionTeamsPrize Money
3South Africa$450,000
5Sri Lanka$200,000
6New Zealand$100,000
8West Indies$100,000

Above are the teams with their respective prize money, Pakistan could have secured the third or fourth spot if they didn’t lose or draw back-to-back home test series.

Now, the main question is who will win the big prize and lift the World Test Championship trophy Australia or India? To know about that, mark your calendar for 7th June, the biggest clash in the history at historical stadium the Oval.

See More: Updated yourself with the upcoming cricket event Asia Cup 2023

What do you think of the story? Tell us in the comments section below.

To Top