UAE Adds Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal & Sri Lanka To Travel Curbs List

Pakistan Travel Ban UAE

The United Arab Emirates will bar entry to non-UAE resident travelers from Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal, and Sri Lanka. The decision, which will apply from Wednesday, will help contain the spread of the coronavirus.

The UAE last month banned entry to travelers from India. Why? To guard against the spread of the highly contagious Indian variant.

Image: Reuters

“Flights between the four countries will continue to allow the transport of passengers from the UAE to Bangladesh, Pakistan, Nepal, and Sri Lanka.” The National Emergency Crisis and Disasters Management Authority (NCEMA) announced.

The ban includes transit flights coming from those countries. Transit flights to those countries can continue.

UAE citizens, long-term residency holders – known as “golden visa” holders – and diplomats are not included in the ban. The ban comes just ahead of the Eid festival celebrating the end of the Islamic fasting month of Ramadan.

Image: Twitter

To enter the UAE from the four countries, people must have been in another country for at least 14 days beforehand.

Earlier, Britain added Bangladesh, Kenya, Pakistan, and the Philippines to its travel “red list” to contain the virus. And, later Oman, also followed the same precautions. Canada was the last country to suspend passenger flights from Pakistan and India over COVID-19 fears.

What do you think of this story? Let us know in the comments section below.

To Top