PCB Announces Pakistan Cricket Team Squad For T20 World Cup & England Series

Pakistan cricket team squad

Finally, Pakistan Cricket Board has announced the squad for the England series, upcoming Trio series, and T20 world cup.

After the disappointing performance in the Asia Cup 2022 final, people criticized PCB for selecting some useless players who don’t deserve to be in the squad and shared their opinions.

PCB made some changes in the squad and included a few new players after looking at their other league performances.

Source: Pro Pakistani

Top-order batter Shan Masood has been included in the side for the shortest format for the first-time along with fast bowlers Mohammad Wasim Junior and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

Source: Indian express

While Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Haris and Shahnawaz Dahani have been named as the three traveling reserves.

Pakistan cricket team squad

Chief selector Muhammad Wasim said, “We have a team that can perform strongly in the T20 World Cup. That’s why we have shown faith and confidence in almost the same set of players who have been part of the T20I squad post the 2021 World Cup in the UAE.

These players have performed well since November 2021 and that’s why we have won nine out of our last 13 T20Is. We have invested in these cricketers and it is fair to them that they get the opportunity to show their mettle in the World Cup, an event for which they have been preparing and training hard.”

“We needed to ensure continuity and support to these players, and that’s precisely what we have done. We are receiving encouraging reports about Shaheen Shah Afridi, who is likely to resume bowling early next month.”

Source: Cricket Pakistan

The selectors have also named all of the players who will travel for the World Cup except Fakhar Zaman and Shaheen Shah Afridi. To replace them, the selectors have named all-rounder Aamir Jamal and mystery spinner Abrar Ahmed.

T20 World Cup 2022 Squad – Pakistan

  1. Babar Azam (captain)
  2. Shadab Khan (vice-captain)
  3. Asif Ali
  4. Haider Ali
  5. Haris Rauf
  6. Iftikhar Ahmed
  7. Khushdil Shah
  8. Mohammad Hasnain
  9. Mohammad Nawaz
  10. Mohammad Rizwan
  11. Mohammad Wasim Junior
  12. Naseem Shah
  13. Shaheen Shah Afridi
  14. Shan Masood
  15. Usman Qadir

Pakistan squad for England T20Is

As the England cricket team has arrived in Pakistan after 17 years, the Pakistan cricket board also announced the squad for the T20 series against the visitor.

  1. Babar Azam (captain)
  2. Shadab Khan (vice-captain)
  3. Aamir Jamal
  4. Abrar Ahmed
  5. Asif Ali
  6. Haider Ali
  7. Haris Rauf
  8. Iftikhar Ahmed
  9. Khushdil Shah
  10. Mohammad Haris
  11. Mohammad Hasnain
  12. Mohammad Nawaz
  13. Mohammad Rizwan
  14. Mohammad Wasim Junior
  15. Naseem Shah
  16. Shahnawaz Dahani
  17. Shan Masood
  18. Usman Qadir

Pakistan and England will clash in their first T20 match on the 27th of September in Karachi.

What do you think of the story? Tell us in the comments section below.

To Top