Pakistan Squad Announces For ODI Series Against New Zealand

Pakistan ODI squad Announced

Pakistan ODI squad for New Zealand has been announced by the Interim Chief Selector Shahid Afridi.

Right now second test match, day 4 is going on between Pakistan and New Zealand in which the visitors got 281 runs lead with 4 wickets loss.

Source: The News International

The outcome of the second and final test is clear in front of the fans. But to have a better result in the ODI series, Pakistan needs to bring on the best players and for that Shahid Afridi surely managed to pick some great players.

Shahid Afridi named a 16-member squad for the three-match ODI series scheduled to be played in Karachi this month.

Pakistan ODI Squad Announced

Great news for the Pakistani fans as Fakhar Zaman made a return to the squad after rehabbing from his injury and was included along with Haris Sohail who has also been recalled for the series. Haris Sohail last played an ODI series back in October 2020.

During the press conference, the Interim Chief Selector Shahid Afridi said, “I spoke to Shadab this morning, he wasn’t feeling comfortable due to a finger injury, that’s why he is not selected for the series against New Zealand.”

“We asked Babar and Saqlain to give their choice of 16 before finalizing this squad, where we felt things can improve, we do a discussion on these issues,” Afridi said.

“It was an important responsibility for me, there is no dearth of talent in Pakistan and it made me feel good. I am here for a limited time but important was to keep Pakistan’s future in mind.

Source: Indian Express

“Our mandate was to name squads for series against New Zealand only but we have made our choices keeping the future in our mind. We have also given importance to performances in domestic cricket,” he concluded.

After the departure of Ramiz Raja, Najam Sethi joined as the PCB chairman and he immediately appointed Shahid Afridi as the Interim Chief Selector.

Pakistan ODI Squad For New Zealand

Source: Cricket Pakistan
  1. Babar Azam (captain)
  2. Fakhar Zaman
  3. Haris Rauf
  4. Haris Sohail
  5. Imam-ul-Haq
  6. Kamran Ghulam
  7. Mohammad Hasnain
  8. Mohammad Nawaz
  9. Mohammad Rizwan (wk)
  10. Mohammad Wasim Jnr
  11. Naseem Shah
  12. Salman Ali Agha
  13. Shahnawaz Dahani
  14. Shan Masood
  15. Tayyab Tahir
  16. Usama Mir

The ODI series will be played in Karachi with matches scheduled on the 9th, 11th, and 13th of January.

What do you think of the story? Tell us in the comments section below.

To Top