Pakistan and India agree on six-series deal for next eight years

Pakistan, Cricket series, Pakistan and India, india, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), International Cricket Council (ICC),

KARACHI / MELBOURNE:Six cricket series between Pakistan and India, to be held between 2015 and 2022, have officially been announced by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB).

The PCB has successfully secured six series against India after signing a legal binding agreement for the next eight years.

Four of the six series will be hosted by Pakistan in the UAE or in Pakistan with mutual consent, while the other two will be hosted by India.

Furthermore, the PCB has emerged as the strongest cricket board apart from the ‘Big Three’ — namely India, England and Australia –in terms of the percentage of revenue it will receive from the International Cricket Council (ICC).

Also Read : More Sport News

The PCB, led by Zaka Ashraf, had initially shown strong opposition to the ‘Big Three’ plan, which gave India, England and Australia the power to dominate world cricket.

However, the PCB was left alone in the battle as other countries also pledged their allegiance to the ‘Big Three’ plan and there was a fear of further isolation for Pakistan cricket.

As soon as Najam Sethi came back in power as PCB chairman, he tried to handle the situation swiftly so
that Pakistan could make the most out of the situation.

According to PCB, the ICC has decided to grant Pakistan the fourth rank in the power game.

“A major achievement for PCB as ICC agreed on Thursday to grant Pakistan the fourth rank after the ‘Big Three’ in terms of the percentage of revenue to be received from the ICC in the next eight years from broadcasting and other rights on ICC fixtures,” a PCB press release read.

“It is a really big achievement,” said Pakistan Cricket Board Chairman Najam Sethi.

According to Express News, if India refuses to play the series, they will be heavily penalised.

First Published In The Express Tribune, 26th june, 2014.

To Top