Karim Benzema Wins Ballon d’Or & Alexia Putellas Makes History

Karim Benzema win Ballon d'Or

Last night was epic for the La Liga side because it was the Ballon d’Or event and the La Liga giants dominated the whole ceremony with the awards and left everyone speechless.

But the most important moment of the night was Karim Benzema winning the Ballon d’Or and becoming the second player from Real Madrid to break the duopoly of Ronaldo and Messi since 2008.

Source: Sky news

History was made and some players were robbed as well. It was the night to remember and would be a great pleasure to revisit the night to celebrate Karim’s winning moment.

Ballon d’Or Ceremony – Karim & Alexia

The ceremony began with a bang, the theatre was filled with football stars and it was the night to remember. As there’s no Messi and Ronaldo in the competition of winning the prestigious award in the football world.

For those who don’t know, it was the first time that the award is given out based on the merits of the last season of football, as opposed to the last calendar year.

Source: Sporting News

Apart from Karim, Kevin de Bruyne and Sadio Mane were presented, as is the favorite Karim Benzema. The night was purely dominated by Barcelona and Real Madrid.

As from the female football world, Putellas retains her title as the world’s best women’s player after leading Barcelona to another Spanish title, scoring 18 goals in the process.

Source: Forbes

In her acceptance speech, “I’m very happy to be back here,” Putellas said. “Winning last year pushed me to want to be even better. Without my teammates, this wouldn’t have been possible. I want to thank the coaches and technical staff who help me to improve every day.”

Karim Dream Benzema

Karim Benzema has been the favorite contender from the last season for his remarkable performance in the Champions League and La Liga. How can anyone forget his comeback from the ashes to thrash PSG and sent them to France?

Benzema has won the men’s award for the first time after leading Real Madrid to the Spanish title and their 14th European Cup.

Source: EuroSport

He scored 27 goals in La Liga and was also the top scorer in the Champions League with 15. 10 of his goals came out of the knockout stage of the Champions League including the incredible hat-tricks against Paris Saint-Germain and Chelsea.

Source: Sky Sports

He is the first French winner of the award since Zinedine Zidane in 1998. He expressed his feelings on this special moment of his life. “This prize in front of me makes me proud. I never gave up, it was a childhood dream. There was a difficult period when I wasn’t on the France team, but I kept working hard. I kept in my head this joy of playing football; I’m proud of my journey here.”

Sadio mane – The First-Ever Socrates Award Winner

Sadio Mane left his former club Liverpool in the summer transfer and joined Bayern Munich where he’s been exceptional. He has won the Socrates award for his charitable work in Senegal.

Source: VoiceofNajia

Now the big rob of the night, Barcelona player Gavi won the Kopa trophy for the best men’s under-21 player. Football fans were not happy with the outcome, because in the previous season he has done nothing at all compared to his competitors Jude Bellingham, Musiala, and Saka.

Last year, the same sort of thing took place when Robert Lewandowski got robbed of Ballon d’Or when Messi won the record-breaking award the seventh time.

What do you think of the story? Tell us in the comments section below.

To Top