The Only Pakistani Player Babar Azam Included In ICC ODI Team Of The Year & Test Teams

icc odi team of the year

There’s only one man who is dominating the cricket world with his incredible innings and runs. Babar Azam is the new beast in the cricket fraternity and reigning his top position for the past two years. Babar Azam is the only Pakistani player who’s included in both ICC ODI team of the year and also in test team which makes him notorious.

cricketer babar azam
Source: Cricket Reads

Not only that the Pakistani skipper is also leading the ICC ODI team with some marvelous players under his leadership.

it’s somehow no surprise to no one because, in the 2022 calendar year, Babar Azam undoubtedly showcased a spectacular performance in both ODI and test formats.

Babar Azam Included In ICC ODI Team Of The Year & Test Teams

ICC ODI Team of the Year is undoubtedly one of the precious categories and Pakistani players have been part of all three formats in the previous years.

Babar Azam In ICC ODI Team Of The Year
Source: Sky Sports

ICC recognized every individual’s outstanding performances that impressed one and all – be it with the bat, the ball, or their all-around exploits in a calendar year. ICC said that due to his leadership skills, he leads the ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year for 2022.

Let’s Have A Look At The ODI Team Of The Year:

  1. Babar Azam (c) (Pakistan)
  2. Travis Head (Australia)
  3. Shai Hope (West Indies)
  4. Shreyas Iyer (India)
  5. Tom Latham (New Zealand)
  6. Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe)
  7. Mehidy Hassan Miraz (Bangladesh)
  8. Alzarri Joseph (West Indies)
  9. Mohammad Siraj (India)
  10. Trent Boult (New Zealand)
  11. Adam Zampa (Australia)

ICC Test Team Of The Year

In the test team of the year portion, Babar Azam is the only player who’s included in the squad for his unimaginable innings throughout the calendar year:

babar azam icc test team of the year
Source: Cricket Pakistan

ICC stated in their press release, “Pakistan’s Test captain was consistently outstanding with the bat throughout 2022, scoring four centuries and a further seven half-centuries in the calendar year.”

  1. Usman Khawaja
  2. Kraigg Brathwaite
  3. Marnus Labuschagne
  4. Babar Azam
  5. Jonny Bairstow
  6. Ben Stokes (C)
  7. Rishabh Pant (WK)
  8. Pat Cummins
  9. Kagiso Rabada
  10. Nathan Lyon
  11. James Anderson

Last year Pakistani players were all over the place, Shaheen, Babar & Rizwan led the ICC awards 2022 with their performances.

What do you think of the story? Tell us in the comments section below.

To Top