Great Rivalry Returns! Ashes 2023 Updates, Schedule, Updated Teams & Historic Moments

ashes 2023

The great British and Aussie rivalry returns with the new stars to shine. Ashes 2023 is just one month away to entertain the cricket lovers out there.

Ashes is considered one of the biggest rivalries in the cricket world, where two of the great cricket giants collide for the prestigious prize.

Latest Ashes 2023 Schedule, Updated Teams & Historic Moments
Source: Cricket World

The 2023 edition is back where England looks like might suffer, because with the recent updates they have taken some big blows due to severe injuries.

There are certain things that you must know before heading to the stadium to watch the two great teams clashing.

This piece will cover a little bit of the history of Ashes, the most number of wins by the teams, highlighting moments and 2023 Ashes updates.

Ashes 2023 – From History To Current Updates

The history of the Ashes dates back to 1882 when Australia defeated England at The Oval in London, marking their first-ever Test match victory on English soil.

Latest Ashes 2023 Schedule, Updated Teams & Historic Moments
Source: Totalsportal

The Sporting Times newspaper published a satirical obituary, stating that English cricket had died and “the body will be cremated, and the ashes taken to Australia.”

Since then England and Australia have played hundreds of matches where each of them managed to thrash one of them.

Source: Sporting News

As of my knowledge cutoff in September 2021, the overall record of Ashes cricket wins between England and Australia stands as follows:

England has won the Ashes series 32 times.

Australia has won the Ashes series 34 times.

The Ashes series has ended in a draw on 6 occasions.

Please note that these figures represent the number of Ashes series won by each team, rather than individual matches. The Ashes series is typically a five-match series, and the team that wins more matches or retains the Ashes (if it was the previous champion) is considered the winner of the series.

In the early days, England was pretty dominant in the Ashes, but the Australian side recovered and managed to create big upsets.

Most Memorable And Historical Moments of Ashes

Certainly! Here are some of the most memorable Ashes moments in cricket history:

Bradman’s Invincibles (1948):

Source: West Australia

The 1948 Ashes series in England is often referred to as “Bradman’s Invincibles.” Led by the legendary Sir Donald Bradman, the Australian team went undefeated throughout the series, winning four out of the five matches and drawing one.

Shane Warne’s “Ball of the Century” (1993):

Source: Sky Sports

Australian spinner Shane Warne delivered one of the most iconic deliveries in cricket history during the 1993 Ashes series in England. In the first Test at Old Trafford, his first ball to England’s Mike Gatting turned sharply and beat the batsman, pitching outside the leg stump and hitting the off stump.

Flintoff vs. Ponting (2005):

Jog On, Rick' – Flintoff Recalls Ponting Sledge Battle During 2005 Ashes
Source: Wisden

The 2005 Ashes series in England is widely regarded as one of the greatest Test series ever played. One of the defining moments was the battle between England’s Andrew Flintoff and Australia’s Ricky Ponting.

Ben Stokes’ Heroics (2019):

Source: Cricket Australia

In the third Test of the 2019 Ashes series at Headingley, England’s Ben Stokes played an extraordinary innings to secure a thrilling victory. Chasing an improbable target of 359 runs, Stokes single-handedly guided England to victory with an unbeaten 135

Ashes 2023 Schedule Updates

As mentioned above, England’s side is in great trouble because this Ashes you won’t be able to see Olly Stone as he was ruled out for up to six weeks with a hamstring injury.

Source: The Guardian

There are some fitness doubts regarding the skipper Ben Stokes. For the first time, England will regain the Ashes since 2017. They will begin their quest on June 15th.

Ever since Ben Stokes became the captain of England’s test squad he had grabbed major wins. He whitewashed Pakistan in their home ground and he even led his side to T20 World Cup 2022 win as well.

This time Ashes returns to its home ground England.

England Complete Squad For Ashes 2023

Ben Stokes (captain)Zak CrawleyBen DuckettOllie Pope
Joe RootHarry BrookJonny BairstowBen Foakes
Ollie RobinsonMatthew PottsStuart BroadJames Anderson
Jack LeachRehan AhmedMark WoodJofra Archer

Australia Complete Squad For Ashes 2023

Pat Cummins (captain)Scott BolandAlex CareyCameron Green
Marcus HarrisJosh HazlewoodTravis HeadJosh Inglis
Usman KhawajaMarnus LabuschagneNathan LyonMitchell Marsh
Todd MurphyMatthew RenshawSteve Smith (vice-captain)Mitchell Starc

So, don’t miss out on the opportunity to witness the greatest rivalry clash in the history of cricket. Will England reclaim the Ashes or Australia retain it?

What do you think of the story? Tell us in the comments section below.

To Top